New National Center for Contemporary Art in Moscow

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

Elongated, narrow, having one side for perception and the need to close the view of the rear facade of the shopping center, the site for the NCCA building involves a building facade. This facade is the spatial "focus" of the vast free territory of the Khodynka field in front of it. The possibility, although limited, of developing in the depth of the site allows the facade surface to acquire visual activity and to indicate its presence in the surrounding landscape.

 

The building concept is based on the idea of a pixel as a basic particle-carrier of visual information. The perception of information through combinations of pixels echoes the function of the spaces of the center of contemporary art. The pixelized surface of the facade is made up of cubic volumes extended from the plane of the facade at different distances. Being different sizes, deaf or transparent, these cells create a play of light and shadow, transparency and opacity, gravity and lightness, and provide visual interaction with the urban space corresponding to the building of the cultural center.

 

From the face to the back of the building, the building has a layered structure: the outer layer of cells is replaced by a layer of an open internal atrium to the entire height of the building, in which vertical communications are concentrated. The next layer is the space isolated from the outside world between the atrium and the back wall.

 

Public and exhibition spaces are located in the cells of the main facade. Around the elongated atrium, which is the central ridge of the building, there are vertical vehicles: ramps, escalators, elevators, and stairs. The structure of the main facade is perceived by visitors to the building, located in the atrium, and during the ups and downs.

 

The open city space in front of the facade was left free of car traffic. The road passes under the square in front of the center. Thus, the park on the Khodynsky field, combining with the open public space and the entrance groups of the center, makes up a single pedestrian zone. Access of cars to underground parking is carried out from the lower level of the street.

 

 

Company: EPI Mosproject-5

Architects: Vladimir Belskiy, Kirill Kolotilin

Location: Moscow, Khodynka

Project: 2013

Новый Государственный Центр Современного Искусства

Вытянутый, узкий, имеющий одну сторону для восприятия и необходимость закрыть вид на  задний фасад торгового центра, участок для размещения здания ГЦСИ предполагает здание-фасад. Этот фасад является пространственным «фокусом» обширной свободной территории Ходынского поля, находящегося перед ним. Возможность, хотя и ограниченная, развития в глубину участка позволяет фасадной поверхности приобрести визуальную активность и обозначить свое присутствие в окружающем ландшафте.

 

Концепция здания построена на идее пикселя, как базовой частицы-носителя визуальной информации. Восприятие информации через комбинации пикселей перекликается с функцией пространств центра современного искусства. Пикселизированная поверхность фасада составляется из выдвинутых из плоскости фасада на разные расстояния кубических объемов. Будучи разных размеров, глухими или прозрачными, эти ячейки создают игру света и тени, прозрачности и непрозрачности, тяжести и легкости, и обеспечивают визуальное взаимодействие с городским пространством, соответствующее зданию культурного центра.

 

От лица к затылку здание имеет слоистую структуру: внешний слой ячеек сменяется слоем открытого внутреннего атриума на всю высоту здания, в котором сосредоточены вертикальные коммуникации. Следующий слой – изолированные от внешнего мира пространства между атриумом и задней стеной. 

 

Общественные и выставочные пространства размещены в ячейках основного фасада. Вокруг вытянутого атриума, являющегося центральным хребтом здания, размещены средства передвижения по вертикали: пандусы, эскалаторы, лифты и лестницы. Структура главного фасада воспринимается посетителями здания, находящимися в пространстве атриума, и во время подъемов и спусков.

 

Открытое городское пространство перед фасадом оставлено свободным от автомобильного движения. Автомобильная дорога проходит под  площадью перед зданием центра. Таким образом,  парк на Ходынском поле, объединяясь с открытым общественным пространством и входными группами центра, составляет единую пешеходную зону. Доступ легковых автомобилей в подземную стоянку осуществляется с нижнего уровня улицы. 

 

 

Проектная организация: ЭПИ Моспроект-5

Архитекторы: Владимир Бельский, Кирилл Колотилин

Место: Москва, Ходынка

Проект: 2013